ADJOURNED ANNUAL COUNCIL - 21 MAY 2015

REPORT OF THE LEADER OF THE COUNCIL

APPOINTMENT OF THE CABINET

MOTION

RESOLVED: That

- (1) it be noted that Councillor Fairclough has been appointed as the Deputy Leader of the Council for a four year term of office or until such time as his term of office expires;
- (2) it be noted that the Cabinet comprising the Members indicated below will be appointed for a four year term of office or until such time as their term of office expires, they are removed by the Leader or for any of the reasons set out in Paragraph 4 (a) to (c) of Chapter 5 in the Constitution;

Cabinet (9)

Portfolio	Member
Leader of the Council	Councillor Maher
Cabinet Member – Adult Social Care	Councillor Cummins
Cabinet Member – Children, Schools and Safeguarding	Councillor John Joseph Kelly
Cabinet Member – Communities and Housing	Councillor Hardy
Cabinet Member – Health and Wellbeing	Councillor Moncur
Cabinet Member – Locality Services	Councillor Fairclough
Cabinet Member – Regeneration and Skills	Councillor Atkinson
Cabinet Member – Regulatory, Compliance and Corporate Services	Councillor Lappin
Cabinet Member – Chair of Planning	Councillor Veidman

- (3) the Portfolios set out in Chapter 5 of the Constitution be amended and agreed with the Leader and be lodged with the Monitoring Officer as set out in Paragraph 9 of Chapter 5 in the Constitution;
- (4) it be noted that there will be no additional cost of the above arrangements. The Special Responsibility Allowance for Cabinet Members will be adjusted to ensure the new arrangements are cost neutral and the Independent Remuneration Panel is requested to confirm this position; and
- (5) the Monitoring officer be authorised to make any consequential amendments to the Constitution arising from the matters set out above and all Members of the Council be notified of those changes in due course. If necessary, any changes would be referred to the Audit and Governance Committee for consideration.

Councillor Maher Leader of the Council